Heidi Breyer Music

REQUIEM For the Common Man Latest: 2/1/21

The Agnus Dei, is complete. That makes 6 movements! Two more have just entered production and the last two scores are waiting their turn! Please listen to this short segment from the Agnus Dei and if you enjoyed it please share it all over the place!


The complexities of managing and producing this original music to reflect exactly how I intended it, have been unlike any other project of my career and are due entirely to the unprecedented demands placed on everyone involved during this difficult year of 2020. From my own challenges of planning and managing the schedule, Directing the Choir remotely and tracking the piano parts, to Grammy winning Cellist Eugene Friesen’s Direction of all the String Players to the overarching production, incredible in depth editing of over 90 layers of tracks and final mixing by Grammy Winning Producer and Engineer, Corin Nelsen. I am profoundly grateful to everyone involved and especially to Corin and Eugene, who continue alongside me with production of the remaining movements, having faith in this work of my life.

If you would like to follow this project and be a part of a growing group of people who are determined to support the recording of this project, we would be delighted. It has been an unprecedented year and here at Winterhall Studios we want to show our appreciation for the privilege we are being given to continue our creativity. Please check out the rewards program below that we have established as a THANK YOU!!! And…in addition, and with permission, donors will be listed on the marketing material (either a CD or USB drive) once the recording is released!

Choir of Angels Gift List!

  • Star of Bethlehem $15  -Pre-Order Download
  • Lambs $25 -Download + Requiem USB
  • Shepherds $35 -Download +Requiem USB +Moonlight CD      
  • Kings $50 – MP3 of Lacrimosa + Requiem USB + 2 CD’s   
  • Angels $75 – MP3 of Lacrimosa and Pie Jesu + Complete Requiem USB + 4 HB CD’s
  • Archangels $150 -Angels PACKAGE + Signed Art Book
  • The Principalities $250 -Archangels PACKAGE + 2 Tickets to Premier
  • The Powers $750 -Principalities PACKAGE + Solo Concert by Heidi  
  • The Virtues $1200 -Principalities PACKAGE + Art-Concert- by Heidi/Al 
  • The Dominions $1500 -Archangels PLUS Piano-Rose Limited Edition on Canvas
  • Thrones $1750Archangels PLUS Evensong – RARE Limited Edition Giclee
  • Cherubim $2000Archangels PLUS Any Collectors Edition Giclee (Embellished)
  • Seraphim $15,000 – Archangels PLUS Original Oil of  “Piano-Oil Lamp” ($25,000 Retail Value)                                                


Thank You to All Donors So Far!!!

FROM 2019:

I have been asked many times over the last few years, why on earth I would write a Requiem. My answer is simple. My music is a dichotomy of emotion. Hope, joy, pain and victory, all of them. It acknowledges light and dark contrast in the depths of the human condition, and paints sonic portraits that sometimes we don’t want to look at, or feel, because they remind us of our past, of our present and of our truths. But if we pause and dare to look right into that present moment, into the truth which stares us in the face, if we can steel ourselves to do it, we can still move forward, renew and revive. Understanding this, is the only way.

From observations over the last 6 years I have held a foreboding presentiment that our precious world is in gradual decline, in many ways having fallen off its moral axis, leaving many perplexed and confused about their own lives and values. Until recent years those values were predominantly founded on simple day to day living, in the knowledge that work and love of life and the will to live would provide a future and at the very least a peaceful existence. That pattern of life has corroded, leaving a vast global population with poverty, famine, disease and even in the first world, people go hungry and are unable to plan from one month to the next. All of this threatens our core faith, faith in our belief systems and in mankind generally. With this elucidation, it is clear that my work represents the antithesis of Aaron Copeland’s Fanfare of the same name, which was written in response to the social and political exuberance of his time.

This page is dedicated to my determination to bring this music to fruition, in recorded form and/or through a performance, no matter how negatively the meaning of the music might be perceived. It is not angry music, nor particularly melancholic. I have written more painful lines in the past! Rather, it is the musical representation of a world, which I believe has no choice but to go through a time of reckoning in order to right itself and be renewed.

It is scored for instruments and voices which I innately understand: Piano, SATB Choir and String Orchestra and avoids a wind ensemble almost entirely, except for the pastoral echoes of a solitary English Horn at pertinent moments. I conceived of each movement on the piano, added the instruments and choral parts I was hearing in my head, in Logic Pro, and finally scored it in Finale. Full Score and Parts are available NOW, upon request. They have been reviewed, checked and in places edited, by Eugene Friesen (Composer, 4 time Grammy winner and Professor at Berklee College) .

Pages: 1 2

Stay up to date!